WRITE IT WEDNESDAY

HAIKU WINNER…

From Author Cheryl Holloway:

All of the contest submissions were exceptional. I judged each Haiku poem on the true definition of Haiku: A traditional Japanese haiku is a three-line poem with seventeen syllables, written in a 5/7/5 syllable count. Often focusing on images from nature; haiku emphasizes simplicity, intensity, and directness of expression.

They all were great! So, I narrowed it down to three—a winner and two runner-ups.

My pen sits calmly
On serene unmarked paper,
Waiting for my words.

Runner-up Patrise Henkel... This Haiku speaks to the writer in me. It emphasizes the simplicity of a daunting task, while its creative juices are definitely flowing.

Summer
Slips in so slowly
Builds to a fierce inferno
Ends in cool relief

Runner-up Libby Campbell. This Haiku speaks to nature and the directness of expression. I can feel the perspiration of the summer heat with a gentle wind blowing to cool me off.

Out there on my own.
It doesn’t mean I’m alone.                                                                                                               HAIKU WINNER PIC
You are in my soul.
THE HAIKU WINNER is Narvia Shivers. This Haiku speaks to the intensity of romance. So deep…I can feel you in my soul.

So, as the judge, I have announced the winner and the runner-up finalists!

Thanks Author Cheryl Holloway for judging the Haiku submissions.  Narvia you will receive your Starbucks e-card in your email.  Patrise and Libby you will also be receiving a gift.

Thanks everyone for your submissions…remember we are all WINNERS!!!

THANKS FOR READING…IT’S WRITE IT WEDNESDAY!!!

4 thoughts on “WRITE IT WEDNESDAY

  1. Wow! A contest with prizes. I think I will join in next time.

    Like

  2. Hello Ann… that would be great! There will be another contest coming real soon! Keep reading… tell your family and friends!!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. What fun! Will try to participate in next contest you run! = :*)

    Like

Leave a Reply

